Bagels anyone?

I’ve never eaten bagels and I haven’t seen it in any café out here. Nor have I bothered looking up the recipe. All I know , it’s an  American favourite. So when I came across this ‘Fool proof bagel Recipe’ on Good Food Magazine ( u know I have tons of them…..just eyeing the beautiful recipes…but not trying them out!)  🙂

The recipe seemed pretty easy..so here goes. Everything went well but when the beautifully risen dough wasn’t coming off the baking paper , my heart sank! I scraped it off the paper as carefully as I could without punching out the air as much as possible….and yet my heart was sinking… they looked so beautiful just a minute earlier… 😦

Anyway brave heartedly I decided to continue with the recipe, and WOW! Now I know why the Americans love their bagels! Serve it with coffee and find a topping that you love. I made different toppings with whatever I had but my favourite was the chia seed and almond flakes. Enjoy!

 

Recipe:

  • 500g strong unbleached white flour (bread flour)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp. natural molasses
  • 300ml lukewarm water ( 40 deg C )
  • 7g dried yeast
  • 1 tsp sodium bicarbonate
  • 1 egg white ( for glaze)
  • toppings of your choice ( chia seeds/almond flakes/ diced almonds/chocolate buttons/sunflower seeds/ sesame seeds )

First get a bowl , pour in 300ml warm water and the 7g of yeast. leave it aside to bubble ( if it doesn’t u know ur yeast is expired)

In another large bowl, put your flour, sugar and salt in. Then add the yeast mixture to it and mix it with a wooden spoon till it’s not wet. Now use your hands and knead it for about 10 minutes till it’s smooth and elastic. Leave it in a lightly oiled bowl ,covered with a lightly oiled cling film. leave it to rise for about 1 hour in a warm place or till doubled in size.

After the first rise, take it out of the bowl, and divide into equal sized portions and roll them into smooth balls with your palms. I actually ( I never do this !) weighed each into 80g so that they’ll all be the same size. Line them up on a baking tray lined with parchment paper and cover lightly with cling film. Leave for around 30minutes or until risen and puffy, then remove cling film.

Heat oven to 180 deg C /160 deg C fan/ gas 4. Use a floured finger to make a hole in the centre of each bagel , swirling it around to stretch the dough but be careful not to knock out too much air.

Fill a large pot with water and bring to boil. Now add the sodium bicarbonate ( be careful it will boil over) to alkalise the water ( this contributes to the shine and chew of the bagel) . Place 1 bagel at a time and boil for 1-2 minutes, turning over halfway through. Using a slotted spoon, lift out the bagels and place them back on the baking tray. Brush the bagels with the egg white and sprinkle with the topping of your choice. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until golden brown. Transfer to wire rack to cool before eating.

Enjoy! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

