Power Breakfast

This is me relaxing on a Saturday morning…..on my swing…looking at food magazines , thinking of what to try out this weekend ( I think we should all get swings or a hammock..it’s so soothing to just swing ever so slightly). Anyway, husband is out, kids sleeping….so this is my time. Enjoying the quiet….birds chirping, …..I think I’m gonna stop working on Saturday mornings and relax this way ! 😉

Anyways…this is my new power breakfast I’m crazzzy about. It’s oats of course but cold oats and made the night earlier. Put it in an old jam jar and pick it up the next  morning to work! How easy and cool is that! Well, I love it! I come home about 10.45pm..get my jar , heat up the milk, add all the ingredients , close it , into the fridge and off I go to sleep. Next morning…yummylicious cold oats .

 

Recipe:

  • 180ml low fat milk ( pour into your jam jar or any container you prefer)
  • 4 tbsp. rolled oats
  • 2 tbsp. chopped almonds
  • 1 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp. coconut flakes ( secret ingredient..which makes it so super yummy…you could use the sweetened or unsweetened variety)
  • 2 tbsp. greek yoghurt
  • handful of blueberries and 1/2 a small banana sliced thin

I mix all the ingredients except the fruits the night before and put it into the fridge. Next morning add the berries and banana just before I eat it or take it to work.

Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

